“007”
Fallon…James Fallon
SEVEN!
For you avid
readers of this blog…and let me tell ya…reading numbers are
THROUGH…THE…ROOF* Not like Coldplay’s new single/video “Midnight” which debuted quietly on YouTube at midnight last night, but I am close to the 931,354 views it has…also false, but check out the new song if you’re a Coldplay fan. http://www.youtube.com/watch? v=BQeMxWjpr-Y, but i digress…oh yeah, the Tonight Show!
* Not through the roof…this is just a little mom and pop start up, with hardly any hits on the internets.
Fans of
ratings and numbers of this show should take a look at this article from
Deadline. Interesting perspective and comparison from Conan and
previous shows. Posted today, includes Late Night with Seth Myers as
well. http://www.deadline.com/2014/ 02/late-night-seth-meyers- debut-tonight-show-jimmy- fallon-ratings/
THE
MONOLOGUE: Jimmy had a lot more energy tonight, mainly because the crowd
was much more engaged than last night. This tweet was from show writer
Mike DiCenzo earlier in the evening,
https://twitter.com/ mikedicenzo/status/ 438439389354815488, and we now know exactly what he meant. After the joke about McDonalds expanding their breakfast menu to past 10:30am, (which, seriously, no one wants a Big Mac at 10:35
in the morning)*, Jimmy and announcer, (and comedy genius), Steve Higgins
bantered back and forth, doing impressions while carrying on an
improvised conversation, showcasing what this show is capable of, what Jimmy is capable as a host and what sets him apart from literally
everyone else. AND IT KEPT GOING! After a robot, Siri, joke, he went
back to the impressions. This might have been the best monologue in
Jimmy’s Tonight Show tenure.
*(Melissa's Note: omg, you can totally tell we're cousins if you're reading both of our blogs, seriously...)
PROS AND
CONS: Another weekly staple brought over from the Late Night Show, this
one thing I know is true…Jimmy loves Rob Ford. Almost as much as he
loves Chris Christie.
GUESTS: Paul Rudd's entrance tops best entrances. Here’ a GIF the show posted of it. http://fallontonight.tumblr. com/post/77879614837/we-just- love-when-paul-rudd-stops-by … .
Jimmy and Paul Rudd did a complete breakdown of the Rocky movies…and it
was actually really good! It’s hard for me to picture Paul Rudd as a
father…I love you man. So is this new version of Anchorman 2 called
“Anchorman 2 Part Deux?” (Melissa's Note: LOL) Can you imagine filming this,realizing you
have this much great stuff and then being told, hey, let’s edit this
into a new movie and not tell anyone.
LIP SYNC
BATTLE: Made famous by the Germans…oh! Sorry, still on the Anchorman
track of mind. But really, when Joseph Gordon-Levitt was on, it became
huge. Here’s JGL’s version from 5 months ago, with just over 12 million
views. Lip Sync Battle with Joseph Gordon Levitt, Stephen Merchant and Jimmy Fallon And here’s Tonight’s soon to be instant classic with Paul Rudd: Lip Sync Battle with Paul Rudd…And now I will have Juke Box Hero stuck in my head. (Melissa's Note: Love Paul Rudd... Love him.)
SHAQ: I met
this big fella two weeks ago and he is a giant. It's unreal. And awesome. A
picture is worth a thousand words…And this is worth a thousand words:
Shaq is the best and his show pretty much looks like
America’s Funniest Home Videos, but I now really want to watch it!! that
face plant clip he showed cracked me up
COMEDIAN:
Hannibal Buress made his Tonight Show debut and joins a group of
esteemed first time comedians to perform on the show. He did great.
After just being in New Orleans a week ago, he is SPOT on with
everything. He had a calmed down Kevin Hart approach and feel to him, but
he was funny, and that’s all that matters. (Melissa's Note: Hannibal Buress is great!)
A great Tuesday show, shaking off the Monday blues. Quick note on Late Night with Seth Myers debut Monday.
It had a very “Weekend Update” feel to it during the Monologue, but
loosened up with his conversation with Fred Armisen and did well with
his guests. Venn Diagrams segment could be a show staple, funny stuff.
Quality first show for someone who’s never done that before.
No comments:
Post a Comment