Friday, February 28, 2014

Episode 9


(Melissa Note: I don't know why the background is all wonky, but I'm getting this posted before tonight's episode)...

Night 2 of Lucky Charms and Jimmy Fallon… Is this a new tradition? As I upon those scrumptious marshmallows lets get to the show! Denzel, Shaun White and, say what you want to say, Sara Bareilles are all setting up for a great Tonight Show. Maybe we can get some hashtags, you know, the one Jimmy’s been teasing us with for a week.

Think about this: You loyal watchers of the Tonight Show have heard this theme song nine times now and has it gotten old yet? NO WAY! It almost gets better each night. Whats even more crazy, if you watched all the Late Night’s Jimmy did, you heard ‘Here I Come” 969 times. Did it every get old? Not one bit!

MONOLOGUE:  First thought right off the bat, The Roots have morphed into terrific actors! They do so much more now than they used to, in terms of comedy sketches. They are way more than musicians, and really, lets be honest, we all tune in to see what hairstyle Questlove has and what crazy bow tie he’s sporting.* Jimmy botching the joke was hilarious, the re-joke, made that butterfinger joke way better than any writer ever intended it to be.** Last time I saw Jimmy work this hard was on Hashtags “WorstCarIEverHad”…seriously folks, this is hilarioushttp://youtu.be/KDMemUSaTVY?t=2m25s

* McConaughey HEY..HO… (Melissa's Note: Yes, I love seeing the awesome Questlove bowties)
** You better not lay a hand on my…crap…You better not lay a hand on my…RATS! 
***(Melissa's Note: Clint wants me to add this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pgdF-2Ys-Rc&feature=share&list=UU8-Th83bH_thdKZDJCrn88g&index=3)

HASHTAGS: WHAT!? They changed theme song to Hashtags?!?! I don’t ever get mad at the things Jimmy does, but you can’t change the theme to Hashtags from the Late Night version! Oh well. Hashtags is much like Leno’s staple, Headlines, in that the writers can take a well deserved break and let us, the viewers, write the show for them. Tonight’s hashtags didn’t disappoint. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PZTk8FWPcm0 

Wastepaper Basketball: Solid digital original and guest starring Lebron James. Looking at the Heat’s schedule they played the Knicks on Saturday February 1st, meaning that Bron Bron had to have filmed this sketch with Jimmy on Friday January 31st… (this is how my brain works) Watch it here: Wastepaper Basketball (Jimmy Fallon & LeBron …

GUESTS: Love Denzel Washington. Has he made a movie that isn’t great? Ever since I saw this SNL Parody trailer of Unstoppable http://screen.yahoo.com/unstoppable-trailer-000000405.html it’s all I can think of when I see him.

Shaun White is awesome too. And some interesting stories from Sochi. Like the honesty from him.  Wait here a second…Shaun White named a snowboard trick after a steak he ate the night before!? Thats awesome! 

MUSICAL GUEST: Sara Bareilles…wait… She sings another song thats not Brave, Love Song or King of Anything? (Yes I did an iTunes search of ‘most popular’ to get that). Songs aside, another beautiful staging done for the musical guest. I wonder what the look on Jimmy’s face was when he was told of his new budget?

Wednesday, February 26, 2014

Episode 8

(got this knocked out...TIME FOR SURVIVOR!)

EIGHT!

As I sit in my recliner, snacking on a bowl of dry Lucky Charms, (milk is nasty*), there’s only one thing that could make this better…The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon.
*(Melissa's Note: I AGREE, unless it's chocolate.)

MONOLOGUE: We once again see the strong points of the Tonight Show and Jimmy Fallon as Jimmy and Higgins banter back and forth, this time in their Real Housewives of Jersey voices.  With the Bachelor having a two shows the last 2 days, and let me tell you, they were incredible! Juan Pablo really started to show his true colors and good for Andi for sticking up for herself and not being afraid to call out Juan Pablo on his attitude and lack of caring…sorry where was I? ah yes, The Tonight Show. Having two members of the Roots act out actual scenes from the Bachelor is almost as great as seeing the actual scenes!

(Melissa's Note: Loved the Bachelor bit! So much respect for Andi. Love my KC girl Nikki, but Clare and Juan Pablo deserve each other.)

Jimmy is a good sport. Here’s why. He doesn’t have be a man of his tweets with the Chicago Mayor and do the Polar Plunge, but he is, and it will be fantastic. Folks, this could be Jimmy’s first Tonight Show remote! This could be good! Thinking back on his Late Night days, I don’t think I’ve ever seen Jimmy do Conan type remotes where he’s out delivering Chinese Food, or delivering flowers or other craziness Conan does. What Jimmy doesn’t do in remotes, he does his digital originals, like Downton 6B and Game of Desks. They’re all hilarious.

AUDIENCE SUGGESTION BOX:  JIMMY FLUBBED! In his pitch to Audience Suggestion Box, a Late Night Staple he actually said “Striving to get better here at Late Night”, but quickly realized his mistake and tried to cover it up by saying Tonight Show, but it was too late. This is a great illustration of Jimmy not changing his show from Late Night to Tonight, and good for him. It worked before so why change it. Tarik’s Reality Rap-Up was one my favorite things the Roots do, besides ‘Free-stylin’ with the Roots”* Here’s The Roots showcasing what they do best and using the beats of Jay Z’s song “Beach is Better”  Suggestion Box: Tarik's Reality Rap-Up

* Which I’m sure we will see within the next 8 shows.

GUESTS:  There’s something great about seeing two huge actors together doing interviews, but also doing movies together. Meg Ryan and Tom Hanks are the first that come to mind, but Adam Sandler and Drew Barrymore are another one of those couples that have great on-screen chemistry. 50 First Dates, Wedding Singer, tremendous movies. So this new movie, Blended, has a chance to be good.

Here’s the big take away I took from this Sandler and Barrymore Duet “Every 10 Years” song…BARRYMORE CAN’T SING! But watch it anyway. It’s adorable Adam Sandler & Drew Barrymore: The "Every 10 Years" Song

MUSICAL GUEST:  The second country music artist in eight shows. Dierks Bentley rocked it. I’m not a country fan, but he did well. One thing to note, loving the staging for these musical guests. Unlike the same staging Jimmy had on Late Night, its refreshing to see something new for each musical guest. It’s tiny extravagance! 

A solid show overall for Jimmy! Would you expect any less?

Late Night w/ Seth Myers Check In: slowly getting better, even if it is two shows in. The audience break in bit they did was pretty funny. I've already figured out the rundown for the show. Weekend Update style monologue. Talk with Fred Armisen for a while. Seth tells a personal story. Guests. Music. Goodnight.

Tuesday, February 25, 2014

Episode 007

“007”

Fallon…James Fallon

SEVEN!

For you avid readers of this blog…and let me tell ya…reading numbers are THROUGH…THE…ROOF* Not like Coldplay’s new single/video “Midnight” which debuted quietly on YouTube at midnight last night, but I am close to the 931,354 views it has…also false, but check out the new song if you’re a Coldplay fan. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BQeMxWjpr-Y, but i digress…oh yeah, the Tonight Show! 

* Not through the roof…this is just a little mom and pop start up, with hardly any hits on the internets.

Fans of ratings and numbers of this show should take a look at this article from Deadline. Interesting perspective and comparison from Conan and previous shows. Posted today, includes Late Night with Seth Myers as well. http://www.deadline.com/2014/02/late-night-seth-meyers-debut-tonight-show-jimmy-fallon-ratings/ 


THE MONOLOGUE: Jimmy had a lot more energy tonight, mainly because the crowd was much more engaged than last night. This tweet was from show writer Mike DiCenzo earlier in the evening,

https://twitter.com/mikedicenzo/status/438439389354815488, and we now know exactly what he meant. After the joke about McDonalds expanding their breakfast menu to past 10:30am, (which, seriously, no one wants a Big Mac at 10:35 in the morning)*, Jimmy and announcer, (and comedy genius), Steve Higgins bantered back and forth, doing impressions while carrying on an improvised conversation, showcasing what this show is capable of, what Jimmy is capable as a host and what sets him apart from literally everyone else. AND IT KEPT GOING! After a robot, Siri, joke, he went back to the impressions. This might have been the best monologue in Jimmy’s Tonight Show tenure.
*(Melissa's Note: omg, you can totally tell we're cousins if you're reading both of our blogs, seriously...)



PROS AND CONS:  Another weekly staple brought over from the Late Night Show, this one thing I know is true…Jimmy loves Rob Ford. Almost as much as he loves Chris Christie.   


GUESTS:  Paul Rudd's entrance tops best entrances. Here’ a GIF the show posted of it. http://fallontonight.tumblr.com/post/77879614837/we-just-love-when-paul-rudd-stops-by …. Jimmy and Paul Rudd did a complete breakdown of the Rocky movies…and it was actually really good! It’s hard for me to picture Paul Rudd as a father…I love you man. So is this new version of Anchorman 2 called “Anchorman 2 Part Deux?” (Melissa's Note: LOL) Can you imagine filming this,realizing you have this much great stuff and then being told, hey, let’s edit this into a new movie and not tell anyone.


LIP SYNC BATTLE: Made famous by the Germans…oh! Sorry, still on the Anchorman track of mind. But really, when Joseph Gordon-Levitt was on, it became huge. Here’s JGL’s version from 5 months ago, with just over 12 million views. Lip Sync Battle with Joseph Gordon Levitt, Stephen Merchant and Jimmy Fallon And here’s Tonight’s soon to be instant classic with Paul Rudd: Lip Sync Battle with Paul Rudd…And now I will have Juke Box Hero stuck in my head. (Melissa's Note: Love Paul Rudd... Love him.)


SHAQ: I met this big fella two weeks ago and he is a giant. It's unreal. And awesome. A picture is worth a thousand words…And this is worth a thousand words: 
Shaq is the best and his show pretty much looks like America’s Funniest Home Videos, but I now really want to watch it!! that face plant clip he showed cracked me up


COMEDIAN: Hannibal Buress made his Tonight Show debut and joins a group of esteemed first time comedians to perform on the show. He did great. After just being in New Orleans a week ago, he is SPOT on with everything. He had a calmed down Kevin Hart approach and feel to him, but he was funny, and that’s all that matters. (Melissa's Note: Hannibal Buress is great!)


A great Tuesday show, shaking off the Monday blues. Quick note on Late Night with Seth Myers debut Monday. It had a very “Weekend Update” feel to it during the Monologue, but loosened up with his conversation with Fred Armisen and did well with his guests. Venn Diagrams segment could be a show staple, funny stuff. Quality first show for someone who’s never done that before.

Episode 6

SIX!

I was talking with a coworker this afternoon about the Tonight Show, and Jimmy Fallon and why I would blog about it. She brought up a very interesting point: Fallon and his Tonight Show isn’t just a talk show, but a show that takes you back to the old variety shows - filled with gags and skits, sketches and laughs, that are brilliantly written and perfectly executed. 

After a monologue that clearly had to have been edited for time or lack of laughs with all the abrupt laugh breaks, Jimmy plugged Late Night with Seth Myers. Classy move, and crazy to think Fallon and Myers are the face of Late Night TV on NBC!

We move quickly onto some incredible video Fallon found of the Beatles; rare, never before seen footage. Take a look for yourself - they were truly ahead of their time* http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KZYXOSvpYQ0 … 

*#RedbullGivesYouWing

ONTO THE GUESTS!! 

It seems like Fallon is legitimately friends with all these celebrities and they all seem to bee really happy to be around him! Fallon seems WAY to excited to have a fan in Reese Witherspoon’s  mom. Trust me Jimmy…you haven more fans than her…But lets take some time to all grasp the realization Fallon really does have AWFUL handwriting! Terrible iPhone/TV pic below: (Melissa's Note: Yeah, terrible. All my mom and I could make out was "Betty" lol)



Catchphrase! So many good memories of Jimmy playing this game.* When Jimmy asked Usher if he was ready to play, I really wanted Usher to yell “YEAH!”** When Jimmy plays games, he couldn’t care less who he’s beating…”Looks like you’re getting the bronze tonight!” case and point to Jimmy going all out on games!

*I'm tried of saying Fallon, plus Jimmy seems more natural

** But that hat though..did he talk to Pharrell?

Fred Armisen…he has been doing this standing ovation request since I believe, his first appearance on Late Night w/ Fallon, and each time it’s hilarious. Credit to Fred too for doing the Tonight Show 90 minutes before taping his show 2 floors up.*Fred doing New York accents is great…too bad I’m not from the area to fully understand this.  Fred’s story about being afraid of heights is dipping into his SNL Weekend Update Character, Nicholas Fehn, who goes on for WAY too long.

* Tonight Show tapes at 5pm est and Late Night at 6:30pm est


Musical Guest: Rick Ross

I'm not THAT familiar with his work, but I will say this, anytime the Roots play with the musical guest - it’s a win. One of the most talented bands in late night and with them adding the two horn players, they’re even better.*

* As the Tonight Show, you gotta have horns right?

** It’s only a matter of time before Jimmy shows the world some Hot Sax…we’ll give it time though. 

Of the six Tonight Shows, this one was the weakest. In his Late Night days, Monday shows were usually the weaker of the the week. They won’t all be winners, so we look ahead to tomorrow, but more importantly, see what this little Seth Myers guy is all about.

Saturday, February 22, 2014

Episode 5

FIVE!


We all knew it would happen, right? Jimmy Fallon and Justin Timberlake are like two peas in a pod. Like Apple Pie and Ice Cream like <INSERT TWO THINGS THAT GO REALLY WELL TOGETHER>. The minute we all got news Fallon would take over the Tonight Show we all knew JT would be a guest either on his first night (like on Late Night) or at least in that first week*


* I call Justin Timberlake, ‘JT’ cause we’re super close like that, and I too, brought sexy back



I’ve been excited for this episode all week, so lets get to it!


-  Show 5 and we see Fallon, settled into his job. Any nerves he showed on the first 2 shows were gone towards the end of the week

-  Heated runways!?! That sounds like a great idea! And Fallon dancing around as a runway attendant made me laugh out loud*



* I live by myself so whenever I do laugh out loud in my empty apartment late at night, I’m always slightly embarrassed with myself, and also sad, cause no one is able to share my joy with me**



** hashtag sorry not sorry



THANK YOU NOTES!! I would love to be in the writers room for thank you notes writing day. It’s gotta be one of those where so much gets bounced around. Definitely a time for the writers to show off

-  The best part of Thank You Notes is when Fallon just goes off and improvises with Higgins and totally gets off course

Quote of the Night Nominee: Thank you, Biathlon, for sounding like a contest that could go either way 

-  Thoughts during the commercial break…How will Fallon introduce History of Rap 5 cause you know they’re going to do it

Side Note: one of the coolest things I think Fallon does, and has done, is having the Vinyl covers out for all the musical guests. Classic old school turning into new school, bust has that old school feel (Melissa's Note: I noticed this too, Clint! It is cool bringing out the out school and the larger vinyls show off the cover art and give the artist a larger and better presence on screen than just slapping the CD on the desk)

HISTORY OF RAP 5!!!! Greatest thing Fallon has ever created! Watch Here: History of Rap 5 (Jimmy Fallon & Justin Timberlake)

-  Version 5 is up there with Version 2 and 3 as the best there’s been

In case you are unfamiliar with History of Rap, this kind person has posted all 4 others as 1 clip on the Youtubes. Take a look! its 19 minutes and 30 seconds worth your time…WATCH IT: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sWsBirqxEjA

-  And a production note for all you TV nerds out there like me, the addition of the steady cam to the arsenal of cameras has added a tremendous new look to the show other pedestal cameras and jib cameras can’t 

I wonder what it’s like to be best friends with JT…TALKIN’ TO YOU JIMMY!

-  This interview with JT is SO good!

“The beef, or the chicken in a Taco Shop!” Remember these two guys’ interview two times ago, when they first talked about this, and they went full Michael Jackson, into a ‘STAR-BUCKS GIFT-CARD!, IT’S A STAR BUCKS GIFTCARD!”

-  Not only is JT bringing sexy back but he also seems to be bringing the button the top collar of a shirt back

JT must really love Fallon to not only stop by in the middle of his tour, but be on for the whole show, and bring the band in to perform a song. JT is the best and mixed with Jimmy, even better! The Argument can be made, JT is the best guest Jimmy regularly has on his show. 



Aside from the greatness that is Olympic Curling on NBCSN, the Tonight Show, this week was the only other live programing on NBC…SO great…SO great. And don’t forget to show Seth Myers some love on Late Night on Monday. I’ll be honest, I was little apprehensive of Fred Armisen as the band leader, but after seeing this tweet from the show, I’m no longer worried. They sound terrific. Watch 15 seconds here: http://instagram.com/p/ksUUW9hjyt/

Thursday, February 20, 2014

Episode 4

Night Four and it still seems strange to hear Jimmy Fallon use the name “Tonight Show.” I watched all of his Late Night Shows and I feel like Tonight is just and extension of the show he’s been doing the last five years, and it really is. It makes me happy Fallon is staying true to his Roots.*

* No pun intended until I read this sentence back and it totally makes sense cause that’s the name of his house band. (Melissa's Note: I would have giggled with delight at that pun before I had even gotten to the end of the sentence...)

ON TO THE NOTES!

Of all the Olympic Sports out there, I will never figure out who would want to be in Double’s Luge
-  “Bud Light: What are you willing to do for it!” - Stupid criminals (TONIGHT SHOW WITH JAY LENO!)
I dunno about you, but having Michelle Obama as a guest on the 1st week of shows is a HUGE get
-  I really wanna know why H’s are EWW
Raise your hand if you thought you’d ever see the First Lady of the United States of America be on a silly Tonight Show sketch where the title is “Ew” (Melissa's Conspiracy Theorist Note: It's all a big ploy to make the government seem harmless...;)
-  Anybody else on the EW Dance Party want Will Ferrell to dance the ‘cow bell’ dance?
A.D. Miles plays the exact same creepy character in nearly every Fallon sketch…and it’s hilarious
-  Once the kale chips came out, I felt like I was watching an episode of Sesame Street 
Remember the Disney movie, My Date With The President’s Daughter, the Disney Channel Original Movie? SO GOOD! (Melissa's Note: I am going to refrain from making a reference to a certain pair of twins...)
-  Let’s MOVE (get it?) onto Will Ferrell. Definitely have have “Tight Pants” song stuck in my head
Was Will Ferrell in skating shape during the filming of “Blades of Glory”
-  Seeing Ferrell barely getting through saying “didn’t know the tryouts were” without laughing, and Fallon laughing at him only brings back memories of these two on SNL. Crazy to see where these two guys are at now.
Comedy just comes so naturally for Will Ferrell
-  The Roots are amazing…that song they played for Ferrell’s skating routine and then the bump to break with Quest coming in on the drums…incredible
Arcade Fire is a peculiar bunch of musicians…but I can’t seem to turn away from them

A look ahead to tomorrow night’s Friday Show: TIMBERLAKE!!! they just gotta do History of Rap Five right? Right?

Episode 3



Oh my…this episode made me so happy. Who even knows where to begin with this?! For a good 45 minutes of the hour show, 4 of the 10 trending topics on Twitter were Tonight Show related. incredible. Almost as incredible as Jimmy Fallon having over 11 million people watch him on Monday Night (9 million watched Conan’s debut) Onto the notes!

-  so great to see Kate Upton in space!
one of the greatest things Fallon did on the Late Night show was use Brian Williams of NBC Nightly News. From Bri-Willy slow jamming the news, to these rap songs edited with his Nightly News footage, this one was just too great. it was a Rappers Delight if you will…kudos to the show for putting together an extended version for the first airing on the Tonight Show.
-  Hashtag Blessed 
Hashtag great to see Hashtag again
-  Bradley Cooper is another example this week alone of Fallon’s first celebrity guest genuinely happy for Fallon and happy to be a guest on his show. And WHAT A GIFT from Cooper who gave Jimmy the Chrysler building…
Charades…a classic game Fallon gets way to competitive about, and we saw it again tonight. With special guest Emma Thompson (who definitely didn’t curse like that on Saving Mr. Banks!)
-  I was born in 1988, so the only Johnny Carson I saw was best of clips on VHS or on an infomercial, but from what I’ve seen, Carson would be proud of what Fallon is doing with these games and the fun he’s having on the show.
If I’m ever in a room and need a charades partner, i aint picking Tim McGraw 
-  in all the Late Night games I’ve seen Fallon play, dunno if I’ve eve seen him get so competitive when Cooper said the wrong song title. He REALLY wants to win!
in what has to be a Tonight Show tradition, kid inventors
-  iHead…sure, a dog dryer, cute (by the way, that dog definitely took a sleeping pill before he went on camera) BUT MY GOODNESS that flashlight idea is pure genius! 
but is it as pure genius as the granola bowla?
-  we saw it on the Lady Gaga performance and now on the Tim McGraw performance, Fallon’s budget for staging on musical guests is a lot more money! we’re seeing an SNL kind of production
i think McGraw needs another guitarist on stage…

By far the best show of the week, and it’s only Wednesday! I wonder what Thursday has to offer…besides Hashtags (which was a trending topic most of the afternoon and evening) 

Episode 2

The Tonight Show roared into its new existence last night; would show two be a letdown? Of course not. Tonight’s show 100% felt like an episode of Late Night with Jimmy Fallon. Jimmy was right in all his interviews prior to the show, the Late Night Show he’s been doing the last six months will in fact be the Tonight Show. Last night was seemed ‘off’ of his usual antics, but Tuesday’s show…quintessential Fallon.

Already, I seem familiar with the new open and new theme song. In another Late Night bit, Roots bass player Mark Kelley walks up next to Jimmy. A big kudos to NBC and snowboarder, Jamie Anderson. Fresh off her gold medal in Sochi last week, she apparently didn’t care to be present in the closing ceremonies, that or she’s flying back. A nice get for the Tonight Show to have an Olympic Gold Medalist on the show during the Olympics.

Next up, another Late Night bit with a Bachelor re-enactment. Questlove and Tariq performed an actual scene from the Bachelor last night and it was way funnier than the actual scene.*

*Not that i would know cause i don’t watch the show…Nikki is soooo the front runner. (Melissa's Note: She sooo is, especially since he didn't let anyone else meet his kid, parents and baby's momma)!

Now onto the notes from the show!

-  Line of the Night Nominee: “HOT CARD!” after the Ligety Split joke
Skelton Luge should not be an Olympic Event
-  Al Roker has a forecast of being cloudy with a chance of meatballs
Pro’s and Con’s theme the same from Late Night
-  The Ragtime Gals - R. Kelly “Remix” might be the best of these he’s done, sorry JT and you bringing SexyBack. The Ragtime Gals really set the mark here and showed new Tonight Show viewers what Jimmy Fallon’s musical bits are all about. This was was tremendous. Watch here: http://youtu.be/r2LiFsdrXF4 
- LORNE MICHAELS SIGHTING!!!! (on the bump to break he was at the writer/producer table on the stage floor
- Jerry Seinfeld was Jerry Seinfeld. I’m not really a fan of his standup but Comedians in Cars Getting Coffee is SO GREAT! I love it
- Fallon’s Seinfeld impression is one of the greatest impressions Fallon does. replay that back, close your eyes, and you can’t tell the difference
- Line of the Night Nominee: “I love the set, I love the rich kid, new york chess set…I would move the Chrysler building to King 4”
Line of the Night Nominee: You know what my bedtime story was at night: DARKNESS!”
-  Seinfeld is so right…the NBC Olympic music really does suck you in - its unreal. John Williams has such power, and Jimmy was right, seeing those mountains you do cry
Where’d Jamie Anderson go on that bump to break!? Back to Sochi?
-  For those of you that don’t get the Kristen Wiig as Harry Styles bit…Google Late Night Michael Jordan Interview…Last time Kristen Wiig was on the show, she dressed up like Michael Jordan and did an interview. And this interview seems completely improvised, at least with Wiig’s answers (Melissa's Note: Kristen Wiig is in one of my all time favorite reality shows, The Joe Schmo Show - She portrayed "Dr. Pat" and had to be "in character any time she was on the set with Matt Kennedy Gould - this is where Kristen honed her improvisational skills)
Favorite Food: Carnitas
-  This show is what every Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon will be like. Guests being goofy and having the time of their life
What would a Lady Ga-Ga song be without spoken word
-  Fallon brings back his “Hope to see you tomorrow” line at the end of the show, as well as him running up and down the aisle.

THIS…is the Tonight Show folks…last night was just a teaser.

Episode 1

The only thing that remains of the Late night with Jimmy Fallon is his Wikipedia page and 969 hours of memories from the last five years, but last night a new era began...or did it?

Since Fallon’s sign off just a short two weeks ago, we see him back on the NBC airwaves and back in his home, Studio 6B in NBC’s 30 Rock, the place where the Tonight Show all started.  

I, for one, am a huge Fallon fan, having watched nearly all 969 episodes I could tell you what worked and what didn’t.* But Monday we finally got to see young Fallon take the reigns of the biggest show in late night television, The Tonight Show.

*Justin Timberlake, works. (Melissa's Note: Justin Timberlake ALWAYS works).

But what’s really new? The house band of Late Night, the Roots, came with Fallon, as well as Announcer, SNL Producer, and every voice you can think of, funny man, Steve Higgins. Even every member of his writing staff made the move to NY.  So here it comes, fade to black and as 11pm Central roles around we see a new era on The Tonight Show.

First noticeable difference, a slower, more extravagant open directed by Spike Lee.* Starting in black and white with a new song created by the Root’s Questlove, the video turns into color and shots of the city. Immediately we see Fallon wanting something to eat, but instead of running every where like in his Late Night open, he walks around the city reaching 30 Rock at the end with a smile on his face as if he’s finally arrived to where he’s always wanted to be.

*Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon: A Spike Lee Joint

The new studio…what a new studio it is. Hard to believe that's where Late Night started. Lavish hardwood, yellowish goldish walls and a giant blue curtain.*  Viewers of the Tonight Show with Jay Leno will be shocked to see such a small studio, but hey, it makes it more inviting and cozy for the studio audience.

*The curtain, also made the trip over from Late Night. 

I really could’ve done without the introductions for the first five or so minutes of the show. Like on the first day of school in college, I understand why he did it, but I guess as someone who knows everything about Fallon, I wanted him to move on to something different.* Fallon was emotional, as he has been through this whole process, but good for him. He gets it and understands the history, something Conan didn’t really seem to grasp when he took the reigns of The Tonight Show, which only lasted six months. (Melissa's Note: Heh... Nevermind my cousin, TBS and Conan O'Brien. I love Conan and think he was robbed of The Tonight Show desk. Clint has no idea what he's talking about... )

*I'm not a creeper.

Clearly, Fallon won’t have any problems getting A-List stars to come on his show; 13 stars paid up Fallon after losing a bet that he would never host The Tonight Show. Good to see his best friend and mortal enemy for six months, Stephen Colbert end the line of celebs dousing Fallon with 100 bucks in coins, taking a selfie and finishing by saying “WELCOME TO 11:30 BITCH"!

Now to what made Fallon great on Late Night. He kicks off with a Evolution of Hip Hop Dance. Even my mom, who is 56 (sure, i think that's close (Melissa's Note: You should have gone younger, Cousin...)) said this sketch was cute. She’s never seen Fallon before in her life and she’s already on board. Will Smith was a great sport, like most celebs are with Fallon, and the crowd goes wild.

If you haven’t heard, the show is back in New York after 42 years and Fallon did a tremendous job of showcasing this gorgeous city, but having U2 play their new song “invisible” on top of 30 Rock as the sun sets in the background, the city looking absolutely beautiful. Well played Fallon, Well played.

The interviews with Will Smith and U2 were to be expected. Fallon charming as usual, and clearly having fun with that infections smile and laugh.

All in all not a bad start for The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon and with the guests lined up for the rest of the week, the show shows no sign of slowing down. It’s as if Fallon is telling the world “HERE I COME!”